Should governments make decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

It is often argued whether the governments should play a role in making decisions regarding individuals’ lifestyles or the choices are up to people. On one hand, it is compulsory for governments to step in, in order to prevent people from performing dangerous actions. On the other hand, people should also be responsible to make decisions that are beneficial for them. To begin with, the governments are fully accountable to protect the welfare of citizens. Therefore, they should intervene and restrict certain harmful practices such as smoking, alcohol consumption, and dangerous sports. For example, an age limit on drinking and purchasing cigarettes should be imposed to deter teenagers’ accessibility. By doing so, the development of the addiction to nicotine and alcohol at an early age can be prevented. Moreover, proper laws and regulations are mandatory to maintain peace in the country. If people were given the liberty to do whatever they desire, the country will soon face doom. For instance, if people who fancy guns have permission to keep them, there will be a high rate of crimes in that country. Thus, it is crucial for the nation to constrain the activities individuals can do. On the contrary, people deserve to live the lives they desire because it belongs to them. They should be granted to do the acts they adore to acquire happiness. To illustrate, they should not need to refrain from car racing or sky diving just because the government assumes that they are unsafe. Nevertheless, individuals must be thoughtful and make considerate decisions for themselves and the community. To conclude, the authorities should be in charge to ensure that the citizens’ lifestyles do not impact their wellbeing or society’s. Society should also be mindful of their life choices and make respectable decisions. If both are in balance, peace and tranquillity of a nation is inevitable.