Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Water demand has been a dramatic problem in certain countries all throughout history. However, in recent years this tendency has spread to almost all the rest of the planet. With the world population rising unstoppably and industries contaminating the water sources, actions must be taken from both individuals and governments if there is any hope to save the future of humanity. There are several reasons why the demand for freshwater increased considerably during the last 20 years. To begin with, the world population has experienced accelerated growth and the percentage of drinkable water remains still in the little and historical 3%. Therefore, it is obvious that the demand will increase if there are more mouths to attend. However, the biggest problem is the pollution of the drinkable sources, which are already a minimal portion of the planet's total water. Due to the impact of different industries on rivers and lakes, some places that used to be appropriate for human use in the past are no longer advisable for consumption. As a consequence, not only are there more people in the world but also the amount of water is declining by the day. Actions must be taken from both individuals and governments to address this problem. First of all, everyone should be responsible for raising awareness of water -saving and efficiency. Especially in wealthy countries where having access to water is not a problem. However, all individual efforts are in vain if there are no clear policies from the government. These include not only banning water overuse but also investing in scientific developments. Considering the water is a limited resource that eventually will run out, encouraging the development of desalinization processes should be a priority for all the authorities. To sum up, the lack of enough water supply to face a never-ending demand is now a worldwide concern. Actions must be taken to save every single drop of water on a personal basis but most importantly as a community. If governments do not address this problem immediately, consequences could be devastating for the whole of humanity.