In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Whit the improvement of science and medical technology, human life expectancy has increased like never before. This phenomenon, however, will create new problems for everybody as individuals and as a society, leading to more taxes along with more collective efforts to take care of the ancient people in the later stages of their lives. In this essay, I will also suggest some possible solutions. Albeit they represent a particular weight to bear, few would deny that older people require special policies and care. The first problem is that, given these folk need to receive their pensions as they are not productive anymore, this will translate into more duty for everybody of working age as individuals, since the ancients are increasing in number. In fact, the latest reports on taxes have shown an increasing trend. A further problem is that, when the elderly reach the later stages of their lives, they require particular healthcare in hospices and assistance institutes, meaning a heavy burden on government funds and society. For example, the expenditure on hospices and terminal and palliative assistance in Italy has increased twofold in the last five years. To solve this issue, cabinets should take action and reorganize policies accounting for this inevitable change in social structure. A possible solution is that the pension threshold ought to be increased to reduce the number of unproductive subjects that require monthly fundings. In fact, by increasing the limit to retire from work, more workers will keep paying taxes and the overall burden will be better redistributed. Moreover, workplaces and fundings to healthcare institutes should be implemented. For example, increasing the capability of hospices, not only will increase the number of workers, hence taxpayers, but also implement assistance policies for the elderly. In conclusion, there is no doubt that humanity is changing its composition whit the older ones taking over. In this scenario, increasing pensioning costs for the workers as individuals along with higher expenses for the society on elderly’s care are the two main problems. In this essay, I discussed these issues and presented possible solutions, represented by raising the limit to retirement and implementing healthcare workplaces.