In some countries, people are spending long hours at the workplace. Why does this happen? Is it a positive or negative development?

In some parts of the world, many individuals take a long time through their factory. This trend can be attributed to a combination of economic pressure and increased job demand. This can have advantages and on the other side, it may have a bad side. The essay aims to shed light on the viewpoint before ultimately concluding. On the one hand, there are many reasons why people have to pay out more time at work. One important factor is that the higher living costs, especially in big cities, so citizens to work longer phases to meet their financial obligations and support their lives. For example, working parent often struggle with the education fees of their children and the costs of accommodation, food, and healthcare services, which make them work extra hours to earn money. Another reason is that in today's competitive market, many people feel the urge to push themselves harder and work longer hours to finish their work, believing that taking on more responsibilities can help them and their organizations thrive. As a result, individuals have to sacrifice private time and stay at their workstations to accomplish their assigned tasks. On the other hand, I hold a conviction that this tendency is bringing more harm than good. It is undeniable that earning more money will facilitate one’s life. Nevertheless, such a schedule will put a person under immense pressure, which can cause his health to drop and cause stress-related illnesses. Besides, overworking can career expansion but will leave them little time for themselves and their families. They are less likely to gain work -life balance and will risk the well-being of their close relationships, exposing them to depression and isolation in the future. In conclusion, although it is understandable why people are spending more time at work, I believe that the value it brings is not worth the price one needs to pay.