Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

To begin with, due to technological advancement, advertisements have taken a new place globally in 2021. In ancient times, there was no such thing as TV / Internet to broadcast advertisement. I believe that the concept of advertisement arose after the industrial revolution and it has its own pros and cons. Firstly, to introduce, an advertisement means any form of displaying / highlighting a product of a specific brand to the target audience in order to increase sales / revenue. Many multinational companies like Nike, Apple, Walmart, Samsung, Mcdonalds, etc. use advertisements as a major source of attraction to customers. Due to the recent technological advancement, the above-mentioned companies can now successfully advertise their products on TV, mobile phones, tablets, ipads, laptops / MacBooks, or any other device that has an access to the Internet. I think that advertisement has a lot of benefits. In addition, when using the internet a person can easily view any new product that suits an individual's demand, and that reduces the time and effort for an individual to walk into the store and see the actual product. For example, if a person wants to buy a new phone, a person can actually access a particular brand's website and compare different features offered by different models of a phone and then land on a decision. Moreover, a person can also buy the product (s) online and get the product (s) delivered to his / her place without even walking into the store. This saves a lot of time that can utilized in other significant areas. In contradiction, I agree that, nowadays, advertisements are designed in a way that attracts customers and a majority of the times people end up buying products that are nonessential. For instance, a lot of customers end up buying new phones even if they have the ones that can fulfill their requirements. Additionally, I also believe that advertisements of beauty products that are represented by a model (who has a perfect face / body) demonstrate that the product can actually work. However, a majority of the time, that is not the case. Furthermore, due to these advertisements, a lot of the female population feel very ashamed / uncomfortable about their body / face as they believe that they do not have the perfect one. And therefore, they switch to those products that are advertised by models who have perfect bodies and faces believing that the product will actually help them to get a perfect body and face. Thus, to conclude, advertisements have a lot of advantages as well as disadvantages. But after careful consideration, I believe that advertisements encourage people to buy products that are nonessential.