People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologist claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

Despite knowing the fact that drugs are injurious to health, many youngsters nowadays have been found experimenting with both, legal and illegal drugs. This essay will examine the causes, its effect and possible solution to overcome this problem. The biggest reason that causes any person to start using drugs is the sense of negligence. A chemical called dopamine is released in the brain, whenever anyone feels happy. This chemical is also called the feel-good hormone and it keeps us happy. In a busy world, many kids feel that their parents are not giving them proper attention, so whenever they achieve something, and parents treat it as if it’s nothing, they feel sad. And because of which young kids start taking drugs in order to get their dopamine shot, since these drugs make them happy it, in turn, becomes an addiction. They have a lot of health problem, which includes exposing of the wound, addiction, brain damage, etc. There are a few solutions that can be helpful in solving this problem. One of the solutions is, educating society. Education can help a person understand a lot about the world and themselves. Educating people about the side-effect associated with addiction to drugs can be extremely helpful. Another solution can be parents becoming more responsible towards their kids. Understanding, how something can be an achievement for the kid and celebrating with them can be very helpful and by doing this the kid will become more focused on achieving good things and will never ever be pushed towards the drugs. In conclusion, negligence is the biggest factor for youngsters to start taking substances, which in turn, cause a lot of health problems. However, it can be solved by educating the youth and also changing parent’s behaviour.