the advantages and disadvantages of being a vegetarian

In recent years, being a vegetarian has become trendy and a lot of people started to opt for natural food resources derived from plants rather than animal products. Not only to avoid harm to animals, but also to have a healthier life style themselves. However, many disagree and find it too extreme to abstain from eating all animal products as they constitute the overwhelming majority of their diet. Indeed, a vegetarian diet is a healthier option as it is proven time over time through research that it leads to a significant drop in cardiovascular disease and diabetes risk. Equally important, is the fact that it helps promoting athletic performance with the likes of Michael Phelps and Lionel Messi utilizing it to improve their performances. Another example is Irina Shayek a famous model who, in a recent interview, mentioned that she is following a strict vegetarian diet to help her maintain a constant weight and a glowing skin. On the other hand, opposing views allege that the diet is simply too hard to stick to and claim that it is simply impossible for them to stop eating eggs and bacon for breakfast. Also, a lot of them firmly believe that a vegetarian diet would harm their protein intake although it has been proven again and again that this is not true. To conclude, a vegetarian diet is most definitely the healthier option. However, it is difficult to adhere to. The way I see it, moderation is the answer if we can collectively decrease our intake of animal products we can make a profound difference.