Taxing Industries, corporates and individuals based on their environmental footprint is the only way to save the environment. Do you agree with the statement? Give your opinion.

Levying cess on various organisations based on their impact on the ecological system is the sole method to control the pollution. I strongly condemn the above-mentioned statement, as it will be an extra burden on the end users, not on corporates. Firstly, we will explain the impact of increasing surcharges on these kinds of industries and secondly, we will elaborate on the ways to minimize the effect of waste on the environment. To begin with, it is an illusion for everyone that sole proprietors or registered companies are the ones who bear the tax, whereas,in reality, it's the ultimate consumer who is overburdened with all kinds of direct as well indirect taxes. Additionally, imposing a penalty would be a dent over the pocket of a common man, which is not even responsible for this. For instance, Maruti recently increased the prices of their vehicles, as the rulers imposed corona cess. Thus, it is evident that imposing any incidental authority charges would not be a prudent approach to control the emission of toxic in the surroundings. On the other hand, the government needs to make stringent regulations or mandate every concern to implement some preventive and corrective measures in their premises either to absorb or to manage the waste. For example, it is compulsory in Canada for every concern to hire a waste management firm to tackle all the by-products. Moreover, non-monetary penalties would work better than levying financial duties like cancelling the license after two warnings. Therefore, we can say that taxing any entity would not be a logical solution to curb contamination. To conclude, I opine that there are several measures to control the deteriorating air quality index, but imposing duties based on their footprint on the ecosystem would not be an effective solution, as it would hardly affect the entities, rather, they would just pass it on to the retail customers.