The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

Nowadays, there is an increasing concern regarding the significant rising in the world’s population that is considered to be the greatest issue of humanity. In this essay, I will explore the reasons for this problem and give my opinion in regards to whether this is really the most serious problem of mankind. One of the main causes of overpopulation is the technological advancement in biology, science, and medicine. Thanks to the latest inventions in this area many diseases can be diagnosed on the earliest stage and therefore results in successful treatment. This development leads to an increasing of life expectancy in many countries around the world. Many people think that the consequences of overpopulation could be detrimental for our future generations. First of all, increased consumption of natural resources and food may lead to exhaustion and starvation. Next, currently, we generate a significant level of garbage but with the continuing rising of the population the amount of waste could increase dramatically. However, we definitely have another greatest problem such as climate changing. It is obvious that human activity has affected the natural environment and we must undertake urgent measures to save our planet. From an environmental perspective, climate change creates more extreme weather conditions that hamper the agricultural industry. Furthermore, global warming leads to sea level rises, forests burn, glaciers melt. Inevitably, this could lead to a crash of the whole ecosystem. In conclusion, while overpopulation could bring different problems for future human generations, nevertheless, the global warming issue has more important significance and actions must be taken urgently to support environmental sustainability.