Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are differences in opinion about the fact that whether students should immediately start going to colleges after completing their high school, or they should travel or work for some time. Some people support the former viewpoint, while others the latter. Although they will gain practical experiences as well as will learn to manage their finances well, there are chances that they take the path of misdeeds and later can also find it challenging to continue with their studies. On the one hand, the major advantages of working or travelling after completing high school are gaining hands-on exposure to the outside world, as well as it teaches them effective planning of their spendings. For example, at school, my cousins are taught various subjects. However, the major hindrance is that they cannot apply those concepts in real-life scenarios. Therefore, if given an opportunity, they can learn to apply such concepts at an early stage. In addition to that, they will learn how to manage their life with limited money,as, after high school, they will not get a high salary job. Conversely, there are few disadvantages of this move mainly choosing the path of illicit deeds, as well as there are chances of them finding it extremely difficult to get back to the habit of studying. For instance, in my city, it is frequently seen that teenagers are joining call centres after their completing their schooling,and as soon as they start earning money, they start consuming drugs and alcohol. Furthermore, research conducted by the employment exchange of India also suggested that these young boys and girls have refrained from finishing their formal education. To conclude, that there are contradicting views on whether youths should attend college immediately after high school,or they should work or travel for a short span of time prior to their university studies. Even though they will gain practical exposure as well as master expenditure management, there are possibilities of them choosing the path of misconduct and they could end up being college dropouts.