In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

Nowadays, the market is flooded with cosmetic products and profit is tremendously surging for the manufacturers throughout the globe. There are several reasons behind this scenario and long term repercussions of this on health,as well as on community which,cannot be overlooked. The primary reason is that fair skin is regarded as one of the paramount parameters of beauty measurement. Definitely, in today’s modern times everyone wants to flaunt their appearance and to look fairer they fall into the trap of these cosmetic companies without acknowledging the detrimental effects of these in long run. Another chief cause is peer pressure. Indeed, teenagers are more conscious of their skin tone and to attract the opposite sex, they end up spending extravagantly on these beauty enhancers. Evidently, these creams are enriched with hazardous chemicals which in turn leads to various skin ailments, out of which some are non-curable such as skin cancer. Not only this, the chemicals incorporated into these goods stop the formation of new skin cells eventually, leads to a loss of skin elasticity which in turn makes skin more prone to diseases such as fungal infections. However, society is also no exception in this regard owing to the fact that, individuals with darker complexes are humiliated by the fairer one. Several cases of racism assaults have been reported. Yet, it is witnessed that leverage of non-fair skin is taken by the groom side in the form of a dowry as compensation for the bride's dusky colour. For instance, a survey revealed that Australia ranked second in cases of racial attacks on basis of skin tone. To conclude, the cosmetic market is a trending business in today’s time due to beauty competition among people, irrespective of its negative impacts on health and society in terms of diseases caused as well as assaults on basis of creed.