Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Languages are essential for the country to function and for people to communicate. While some might argue that knowing a foreign language is only beneficial when travelling or working in a foreign country, others propose there are multiple reasons. Though these are arguments, I radically believe that the latter overweighs the former. In the essay, I will discuss both views along with the reasons. On one hand, almost all professional careers require communication. Companies like Google, Apple, Oracle are hiring the best employees no matter to which region they belong. If one gets hired in these organisations, communicating things should be done with colleagues which can be done either by speaking a different language which is common like English or even the native language of the region. Next, it has become a trend to travel to different parts of the world. Reasons may wary but the most important thing to keep in mind is if you travel to a different place you should be able to communicate to meet your needs. For instance, an American can't just travel to a backward nation just by knowing English, he just be able to speak their native language. So Knowing an alien language makes things smoother. On the other hand, there are a plethora of other reasons for learning a different language. Sometimes it's just an interest of a person to learn something new and a language may fascinate him/her. By doing so, it opens up his mind, know about their culture and even respect them. This renders the globe a small village. Additionally, different languages are taught in schools as a part of the curriculum. For example, French is taught during the 12th standard in India. This will enhance the way a student thinks which will come in handy in future. In conclusion, language is an essential medium for communication purposes. Knowing a foreign language may be based on multiple reasons be it work, travel or even personal interest. But it is essential to have a choice in external circumstances and language is no exception to it.