[Переслано от Асадбек] In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

It is believed by many cultures that children can accomplish anything if they believe and work hard. While there are benefits to that belief, there are also drawbacks. Every child would expect their parents ’ unconditional support and love to push them to achieve their goals. That being said, many parents persuade their children to achieve anything they want without question. Parents advocating for their children also increase their determination, abilities, and confidence. Consequently, ambition and hard work may lead to their goals. For instance, the world-famous football player Messi’s mother was the only one who pushed Messi to achieve his goals. No one believed him except his family, and that’s what made him think of himself. However, children ’s imaginations are extremely powerful and unlimited at their age since they are still in the process of differentiating between reality and the fantasy world. Therefore, it could be hard for them to understand what they can realistically achieve in their life. This matter may create unrealistic expectations, such as inadequate children willing to become a football player or singer or even consider becoming an astronaut easily. Although they are not successful enough or their capacity is limited with something else, children would expect their unconditional support from their parents since they think they could be successful in anything they want. Additionally, their failures and hard work with unrealistic expectations could demotivate them, disappoint them, and ruin their self-esteem and confidence. In conclusion, society tells children they can be successful at anything they want, and this is healthy to some extent. Children should be taught to differentiate between realistic and unrealistic by their parents so there will not be detrimental results in the future.