Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. Agree or disagree

In the present age, there has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether children should learn a foreign language in schools. Though there are arguments, I radically believe that it should not be forced by schools rather it should be provided as an option. To begin with, there are a plethora of reasons to not agree with the statement made. Firstly, it can affect their studies. In other words, these days children have a huge amount of syllabus to cover during their academic period and this is time-consuming. In addition to it if a foreign language is made compulsory then students may feel tired and neglect the rest of the syllabus. Furthermore, it can also affect health. For instance, a student may feel burdened due to this language which leads to mental stress and consequences following it. On the other hand, if it is provided as an option, it can have a myriad of merits. Firstly, pupils who have plans to move to a foreign country may choose to study it as it is a requirement. This ensures things go smoothly while travelling and even after settling there. Additionally, if children are asked to choose on their own, they learn it more enthusiastically. For example, a survey conducted by the Indian government showed folks given the freedom to choose performed better in every aspect than people with no option. In conclusion, a package comes both pros and cons. But making a foreign language an option to study has more merits when compared to other options.