As compared to the past, children these days spend more of their leisure time indoors with computers and TV and less time outdoors. Describe some of the problems this lack of outdoor leisure time can cause and suggest at least one possible solution. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been said that nowadays infants prefer to spend time inside their houses playing video games or watching TV than socializing outside with other kids and exploring the world by themselves. There are plenty of problems attributable to the situation that perhaps are not noticeable when they are young but as they grow they can experience some social interaction problems as well as the lack of problem-solving skills necessary for their adulthood. This essay will assess the main drawbacks of the reduction in time that they spend outside and suggest some possible solutions to overcome them. First and foremost, we must not place video games and TV programs as villains since they could bring positive feedback into children's life, especially in a technological era. However, the issue begins when parents are unaware of the time their sons dedicate to stare at a screen instead of going outside and play. One of the main problems caused by this situation is the lack of time socializing with other children which leads to more aggressive behaviour in their adolescence due to the little training in empathy towards others. Another important consequence can be drawn from the scientific research which shows that if a kid plays outside, he/she will develop important problem-solving skills that will help them in their adulthood. One possible way to overcome these problems is reducing the time that infants place in front of computers or television, this solution may sound obvious but we would be impressed by the number of parents unsuspecting of the consequences of their children staying inside their houses all day. As I mentioned before, being in front of computers is not completely negative but the excess is dangerous, especially for the youngest. Another possible solution is to educate tutors on the necessity of letting their children play outdoors, plenty of parents would argue that because of the insecurity and increasing traffic it is dangerous to let children play outside, nevertheless, they must realize the extreme urgency of letting them learn to interact with others and how to solve certain problems for themselves. All things considered, it is obvious that the number of people with a less interactive childhood is increasing at an alarming rate, and placing the entire culprit for this situation on video game companies or television is irresponsible. Technological advances are here to help our lives be easier and more productive, thus, modern parents have the task to regulate the time that their toddlers spend inside and outside their houses.