In recent years, the structure of a family and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

It is indeed true that over the years, the family structure, as well as the family roles, have changed drastically. In my opinion, these changes have both a positive as well as a negative effect. To begin with, earlier, the roles of men and women were pre-defined; men were supposed to be the bread earners of the house while the women had the sole responsibility of taking care of the household chores and the children. Yet, in today’s times, both parents seem to be the bread earners in every other household. In the earlier times, all the generations of the family lived under the same roof, but these days the number of nuclear families is increasing extensively. I contend that these changes are beneficial to a certain extent. They have given equal rights to women; women now possess the freedom of following their dreams and become financially independent. The increasing number of nuclear families is also highly beneficial; with fewer family members under a single roof, the other members have more privacy and freedom to do as they please. Acknowledging the negative approach towards these changes- with both the parents working, an appropriate time for the children is not given. In the future, it affects their social skills, mental health and, in turn, they become more distant. While staying in a nuclear family brings in freedom and privacy, it also puts in loneliness. There are times when one feels like spending time with their family, which is hardly spent in the case of nuclear families. To conclude this essay, I believe that the changes have had their benefits and doubts over the years.