Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Residing in a foreign nation can lead to alarming social issues, similarly practical downfalls, especially when an individual is not able to speak its native language. I totally agree with this notion. This essay will discuss in the first paragraph, how people become isolated and in the second paragraph, how they face difficulty in communication. Firstly, aloneness arising from feeling isolated can cause a devastating mental illness called 'depression'. In other words, people who don't know a foreign language are often unable to form social groups, make friends and express their feelings. Eventually, no more parties, no companions cause sadness to set in. In addition to this, residents face problems such as difficulty in getting domestic help. Moreover, finding a groom or a bride for their grown-up children become incredibly hard. For instance, my cousin came to India all the way from the United State of America to find a bride and get married, as he found nearly impossible to connect with the people abroad, emotionally because of his inaccurate language. Secondly, living in an unknown country is most of the time subjected to risky experiences due to failure in communication. A plethora of youngsters find it troublesome to search and get suitable jobs for them. Even for elderly individuals, it is a tedious and time-consuming activity when it comes to shopping, such as purchasing groceries. Apart from this, availing healthcare facilities is also a huge problem for non-native citizens. For example, Mr Singh, my neighbour shared his experience with me, a time when he was totally unable to communicate with people around him, that he was suffering from excruciating chest pain. He found it crucially difficult to get some help until he fainted. In conclusion, human is a social animal and language is one of the most significant aspects of day to day life. Hence, I completely agree with the fact that lack of it can cause hazardous issues while residing in a foreign nation.