Some people believed that maintaining public libraries is a waste of time because nowadays, computer technology can easily replace their purpose. To what extend do agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that the purpose of the public libraries has been replaced by computer technology. I completely agree, and in this essay, I will state the reasons for my view. Several reasons for my viewpoint could be mentioned, and the most compelling of which is the accessibility of computer technology. Unlike the library that you need to spend time to travel, with the advanced technology we have, you can now browse to the internet all the things you need to know on your own handphone. Furthermore, if you need to find something, you can find it easily on the internet just by typing, rather than using a book that takes time to find whatever you need. Secondly, for people that have limited time, the library is not a convenient place to go. For example, working students that do not have much time to go to the library. They can browse the internet to do their research while at work during their break. With this technology it will be easy for them to study and work at the same time. They can manage their time better. Lastly is the limited time to borrow the book. We all know that it has a limited day when you want to borrow a book from the library. It is because they only have few copies. For instance, those students doing their research have to rush and return back the books on that specific day given by the librarian. With this, students have a hard time getting all the information they need. In conclusion, indeed, public libraries are waste of time because computer technology is more accessible and searchable.