The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, the shortage of housing in metropolitan areas is a major social issue and has a serious impact on their citizens. Some advocates mentioned that only the government can take the appropriate actions to resolve this vital problem. The regulator can formulate the long-term resolution of the housing problem and commercial companies or non-profit organizations can work with government bodies to manipulate the short-term rules to help those people suffering from a shortage of housing. To begin with, it is clear that not sufficient land to build the housing estate is one of the key factors in the shortage of housing. As government bodies are the land owners in its territory, they have the right to make the new lands. For example, new lands in Hong Kong can be made by reclamation. New houses can be built in the new district. If so, people can relocate from the old zone to the new district and the old building can be rebuilt into a new modern building. Land-making is the government's responsibility. On the other hand, some non- government bodies are managing different buildings and homes. They can request to change the purpose to allow people to live here. For example, as factories in Hong Kong are moved to mainland China, some empty industrial buildings can be changed for residential purposes. Those changes can help people to live in suitable homes which can improve their living standards. To sum up, the government not only resolves the shortage of housing by land-making but also business companies and charity organizations can facilitate the resolution of this housing problem by using different kinds of buildings in efficient ways.