Overpopulation in many urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes and how can this problem be solved?

Many cities around the globe are overcrowded, the influx of people moving to urban areas has become problematic. There are many reasons that can cause this migration, lack of opportunity in the rural areas and violence seem to be the main factors that contribute to this development. How could this be solved? for many this is an issue that should be addressed by governments, more investments in the rural areas and safety could be the key to prevent people from leaving their places of origin. Finding a job and accessing postsecondary education seems to be more challenging in small towns, which is the main reason that makes people migrate to bigger urban areas. Most of the factories, businesses, and colleges are located in the cities, resulting in a huge disadvantage for the young kids trying to continue their education. Rural salaries are not high enough to subsidise the expenses that they would have to incur if they wish to study in a close urban center and keep leaving in their home towns. Another determining factor is violence, many people have been deployed by arm groups who control the most forgotten areas and that need the land to run their illicit business, for example in Afghanistan close to 60% of the rural population move to bigger cities fleeing from arm groups whose main purpose was to cultivate Amapola to produce opium. To tackle the above problem, governments should turn their attention to rural areas, investing in more infrastructure and programs that generate jobs and education opportunities, and that incentate concentrate locals to remain in their places of origin, but, under suitable circumstances. Also, local authorities must warranty the safety and well being of their people. Better life conditions can prevent young people from joining illegal activities and groups. Recent studies have demonstrated that social investment significantly reduces violence. To conclude, cities would not be as overpopulated, if governments invest in improving life quality, education access, and security in the rural areas.