Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes argued that physical strength is important for success in any sport, while many people think that the contribution of mental tenacity can not be ignored as well. From my point of view, I think that both strengths are essential and, in this essay, I will support my opinion with relevant examples. On the one hand, success in sports requires extraordinary physical fitness. A variety of athletes have to exercise a lot to build up their muscle strength, increase lung endurance and enhance heart functionality. Therefore, those who spend more time practising have better results in competitions and have more opportunities to be welcomed by many international sports clubs than other weaker athletes. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo is one of the best football players in the world because of his good physical and technical skills thanks to long and intensive workouts. In addition, regular physical training helps sportsmen avoid unfortunate injuries that occur during competition and ensure their continuity in athletic performance. On the other hand, achieving success in sport depends on mental strength also. There are sports that require mental skills rather than physical strength such as chess or billiards. Thus, players should be able to focus and they should never lose sight of their goal. What’s more, endurance sports like long-distance swimming or running also need mental capacity. It assists athletes in the ability to resist boredom and tiredness as well as keep themselves motivated while their body is suffering from fatigue. In conclusion, sports players have to face both physical and mental difficulties on the field. Therefore, they should be trained to be physically fit and mentally resilient.