Some students tend to travel after finishing school and spend time working somewhere instead of going to the university directly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays many students prefer to travel and work somewhere after completing school instead of applying to the university directly. While there are many benefits of this such as exposure to the real world and the opportunity to grow one’s professional network, there are certain drawbacks too. In this essay, I will discuss both the pros and the cons along with relevant examples. One of the biggest advantages of working after school is gaining hands-on experience in a real company setup. This is very important because there are certain skills that one can learn only through practical experience. Another major benefit of working after school is that they get the opportunity to interact and work with the senior management of the company. This has a rub-off effect on the freshers who get to learn the trade by the experts and eventually helps in securing a referral down the line. For example, I secured my first job in an advertising agency by a referral from the manager under whom I undertook my first internship. Thus, it will be very fruitful to gain first -hand work experience after completing school in the long run. On the other hand, there are very obvious drawbacks of rushing directly into work after completing school. Firstly, most of the work available for young pass outs are odd-jobs which will not add any value to their resumes. Jobs like a baby-sitter, dog-runner or working in an NGO to build a house in a third -world country gives a good personal experience; however, it will not give any benefit while applying for a corporate job. Secondly, money can have a negative influence on young brains as it can deviate them from planning their future studies and focus on continuing their earnings. These two reasons are the main disadvantages of deciding to work after passing from school. To conclude, attending university directly after finishing school is not preferred by many students as they decide to gain some experience by working somewhere. While this allows students to get exposed to the real world and gain positive experience it can make them choose the wrong career path and lose focus from formal education. Therefore, selecting the right career path should be the priority.