In some countries, criminal trials are shown on television for the public. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Crime is one of the vigorously discussed topics in modern society. Some countries broadcast trials in order to increase social awareness of judicial procedures. In my opinion, the demerits of trial broadcasting outweigh the merits. Although this practice educates the community, potential fraudsters and criminals can gain knowledge to further use it for their own benefits. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. Admittedly, there are some benefits of showing criminal trials through TV. People can watch these shows and learn about legal system in the country and judicial proceedings. As a result, instead of wasting their time slouching in front of the TV people will get a chance to be legally literate. In the future, individuals will be confident about what is right and what is wrong from legitimate point of view. For instance, individuals will be able to identify frauds and illegal activities with an ease. Moreover, potential criminals can see that he or she might actually get punished if committed a crime. Subsequently, trials can instil fear of breaking the law and deter people from criminal activities. On the other hand, criminals and fraudsters can learn how they possibly can find ways to avoid punishments. For example, they can learn about the loopholes in the law and judicial procedures. Secondly, in trials teenagers or their parents may be broadcasted for breaking the law. As a result, after watching trials, these children may be bullied at school and avoided by others. This can lead to psychological trauma and difficulty to re-enter the community increasing the possibility to re-offend. To conclude, I personally believe that disadvantages of trial broadcasting outnumber the advantages. Judicial procedures can teach citizens about the legal system, however, publicity can detrimentally affect private lives of individuals and potential criminals can use their knowledge to avoid punishment.