At schools, students should only be taught academic knowledge to pass the exams, and skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should be learned from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the main objective of schools is to teach students academic knowledge, while craft skills such as cookery, dressmaking, and woodwork should be learned from friends or parents. I partly agree with this point of view and in this essay, I will disclose my opinion. It is obvious that academic knowledge has a significant meaning during our school courses. If students are good at math, biology, or computer science, they are likely to make a choice of being an accountant, a doctor, or an IT specialist. Everybody should get these vitally important subjects, whatever they will do in the future. For example, knowledge of math will help us to count our money and control our own budget even if we choose to be a dressmaker. On the contrary, not everybody will need to be able to sew or work with wood. In case if children choose such type of craft, they could enroll in a special college after finishing school. At the same time, I do not tend to agree that children should learn crafts from family and friends. Firstly, in order to be good at handicrafts, it is better to learn from professionals than from your friends. Secondly, a school could provide special training courses related to craftwork that let pupils attend them as additional options to their mandatory subjects. It could be useful not only for students who are planning to deal with such type of work in the future but also for everyone who is regarded this as leisure. In conclusion, while academic subjects keep playing a predominant role during the educational process, nevertheless, learning such skills as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork could be considered as optional subjects in school or at the very least in special craft centers. As a result, students would get professional skills from qualified workers and not from amateurs.