Some people believe that people have the right to university education , and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some commentators argue that everyone should have free access to further education at university. While every child has the right to a university education, I totally disagree with the view that everyone has the right to a free university education. On the one hand, there are some reasons why governments should allocate their resources to help children to continue to have higher education. Firstly, family backgrounds should be considered. For example, those from poor backgrounds must leave school after graduation from their high school and start to earn money to contribute to family income. Thus, they can be excluded from well-paid careers, including doctors, engineers and lawyers. Secondly, if people from poor families were unable to study at university, social inequalities would perpetuate. For instance, In the US, struggles for civil rights for blacks and some minorities show the holly of denying equal opportunities for people to have access to education. On the other hand, the right to free university education will be an enormous strain on government budgets. The first reason is that people from rich families can afford to pay for their tuition fees and maintenance during their studies. Moreover, attendance at university is a privilege, not a right, and if people are able to pay for their studies, they should do so. Another reason is that authorities could be faced up with the decision on how to allocate their finite budgets, since there are pressing issues such as health care, the environment and agriculture. In conclusion, although everyone has an equal chance to have further education, I argue that local government should only pay for those with low income and no savings.