Public celebrations (national days, festivals) are held in many countries. Some people say that these celebrations are a waste of money and we should spend money on more important things. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over whether national celebrations and festivals are wasteful and people should allocate money on more necessary things. I consider myself an opponent of this statement since those events do wonders for national prosperity. Nevertheless, it is of significance to invest in other imperative issues. It is apparent to note that public celebrations act as a precursor for the national economy since they facilitate the tourism industry. Evidently, events such as national days and festivals consist of considerable attractive activities which might draw a wealth of tourists either foreigners or locals. Not only does this contribute to the tourism industry's enhancement but it also raises local employment rate and government revenue effectively. For example, celebrated annually in Vietnam, Labor day contains several fascinating activities such as the firework festival, which has attracted thousands of tourists from all over the country. Therefore, those special occasions stand the tourism industry and the national prosperity in a good stead. While the aforementioned redeeming features are widely acknowledged, people should also take expenditure on other integral aspects such as education and the healthcare system into consideration. It is undeniable to claim that these both serve as the backbone industries which are main determinants for the prosperity of one nation. Were the citizens not to have these high-standard aspects guaranteed, their employability would apparently be impaired and their poor health might act as obstacles for the economy's development of the nation. As a result, it is essential to invest in other issues like schooling and healthcare service. In conclusion, public celebrations are utterly worth the expenditure since they do wonders for the thriving economy. However, people should also put a premium on other aspects.