Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perception heating a debate over whether the government should hinder a range of food advertising as it does harm to citizens’ health. While everything has both merits and demerits, I consider myself a proponent of this school of thought. It is reasonable for the opponents of keeping airing the advertisements of hazardous food such as fast food or highly-sugared beverages that they have lucrative sponsors. Evidently, that food not only consuming minimum time to cook but is also tasty fits the current customers’ appetite well, which leads to the exponential growth in profits of the producers. Consequently, the budget for marketing is much appeal compared to other food which is believed that healthier. However, the redeeming features in financial aspects can not surpass the downsides of those unhealthy products’ ads. Firstly, the delicious yet over-cholesterol meals that appeared on advertising channels have an immense impact on consumers’ preferences. They will be driven by the marketers to look at the bright side of eating toxic food and beverages and forget the undesirable effects such as obesity and other cardiovascular system-related health problems. Patients who are the victims of faux marketing will put a great strain on the healthcare system of a country that is one of the backbones of the national economy. In conclusion, the benefits in monetary aspects of certain food advertisements can not overweight the latent issues that wreak havoc on one country’s economical socio-status. Therefore, TV channels and others social networks should take restricting those ads into great consideration.