Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that a host of wild animals are on the brink of extinction due to humankind’s pursuit of economic development. That is why annually, global governments need to invest a colossal amount of money, time and effort for the conservation of wild animals. However, one school of thought holds that allotting national budgets for wildlife preservation is unnecessary. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with this opinion for the following reasons. Firstly, despite enormous resources that spent on conservation projects such as providing shelter for threatened animals in many countries, people have still witnessed the continuing demise of thousands of species. The global animal extinction rate, at the same time, is also on the increase. For instance, many researches show that today's extinction rate is thousands of times higher than the natural baseline. This fact is a testament to the woefully inadequate efforts of humans to combat the extinction of some wild animals. Next, the relationship between the human race and wildlife is inseparable. Because of this, allocating national funds for protecting wildlife is indirectly enhance the well-being of people. Wild animals play an integral role in the food chain in nature. As a result, the extinction of an animal can disrupt that chain, deteriorate the ecological balance and provoke widespread concern regarding agricultural productivity. In conclusion, I would contend that wildlife conservation is a pressing issue that people need to give precedence to it because the natural life and human well-being is an inextricable relationship, and the survival of one very much depends on the other.