Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Cognitive studies have shown that learning rates in children are higher than adults due to many biological and physical characteristics. For this reason, learning foreign languages at an early age, mainly during primary school, has a wide spectrum of advantages over a few drawbacks. Firstly, it has been demonstrated that younger brains have higher capacity for acquiring knowledge faster and retaining new and more difficult information for a longer time. All of these are explained by the creation of stabler and stronger synapsis among neurons leading to facilities of not only acquiring new information but also retaining and reproducing it fastly. Additionally, there are some physical aspects in the phonetic system that vary depending on the native language spoken and grant us some properties to articulate and pronunciate properly. For example, some structures in the mouth, such as the shape of the palate which is modified depending on the movements required to make phonetics correctly since our childhood. In contrast, although there is a narrow range of disadvantages, the most principal is perhaps the ability to stay motivated because the majority of mandatory activities turn out to be boring and uninteresting. As a consequence, having lesser rates of learning due to negative psychological feedback. To summarize, many biological and physical components are related to a higher rate of learning in children. Therefore, foreign languages should be taught from an earlier age, as a result improving the speed of acquiring new knowledge and adapting to the new language as its physical component of the phonetic system.