Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you thing this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

It has been a huge discussion about the amount of garbage being produced in our society these days. The purpose of this essay is to present my opinion regarding the reasons behind such happenings and propose some actions that governments can perform to decrease the number of disposals in your community. The primary reason why I believe the population is generating more rubbish is due to the lack of critical consumerism. In fact, people are buying things they might not need just because it is cheaper. For example, there has been an increase in clothing stores, where any item can be bought for at most 20 reais. In addition, people are not used to recycling, as it had not been a concern in the past, it is not a concept that has been passed throughout generations. However, there are some attitudes governments can do aiming to manage the problem. To address high item consumption, politicians may impose minimum requirements for working, as most of the reasons related to the low price of items are slave labour. In order to reduce the number of disposals, governments can incentive recycling by reducing taxes for those who reach the lowest percentage of rubbish, as well as creating campaigns to educate the population. In conclusion, the main reason for the increase in the garbage is caused by unthoughtful consumerism, as well as the lack of effective recycling policies in our society. The best ways to deal with these problems is to guarantee safe work conditions and educate people in recycling. Although the problem is unlikely to be entirely eliminated in the short term, there are concrete steps to reduce the effect it is having in the current society.