In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In our modern world, it is really convenient that people can purchase any food from around the world in their local supermarket. In my opinion, besides the benefits it may bring to individuals, I assume that this is a negative development because of the demerits it may have on people ’s lives. First of all, importing foreign food to supermarkets may cause a decline in the figure for local agricultural production. This is because people can buy any food that they like from all over the world, so local food may be forgotten and will affect the economy of that country. And the consequence of this trend is that farmers may face financial difficulties and struggle to sustain their livelihoods. The aforementioned situation has not only affected the farmers’ income but has also disrupted the local economy in various ways. Moreover, people have to pay a certain amount of money for the taxes on foreign food, so it may be hard for some individuals to afford to buy this cuisine. Secondly, consuming too much globally sourced food in supermarkets can increase the ability for people to meet health problems. In the past, humans were limited to buying foreign foods and were recommended to purchase local ones. But nowadays, too much freedom in food choice globally can lead to several health issues for some individuals who do not have enough knowledge. For example, in Vietnam, according to VTV, younger people consume Cocacola, a type of gas drink, more than in the past. In 1990, on average, a person drank 1 can of Cocacola in a year, which was 60 cans, but nowadays this number has increased to 500 per individual. It can be seen that these people may have physical health problems such as obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure and even stroke. In conclusion, although people can choose a lot of food to eat, the consequences for the local economy, farmers’ income, and people ’s health are more significant. The government should have some solutions in order to tackle this issue.