In some countries, only few young people go to classical music concerts or or play classical music. Why? Should young people be encouraged to attend and learn more?

It is true that nowadays youngsters are gradually not attending classical music concerts or play classical music. The following essay will explain the reasons why this is happening. Firstly, youngsters nowadays are interested in pop music rather than classical music because it is more vibrant and suitable for their age. However, it is hard for youngsters to feel the melody in classical music. So classical music just serves a certain number of people. Also, with an effective in marketing and using media, pop concerts are always more attracted by the innovation in designing stage or the appeal from the singer. This makes classical concerts just like an antique and no more acceptable in the 21st century. Secondly, playing a classic instrument is obviously harder than singing. Indeed, many people need to take many years to practice a song of Chopin and Beethoven, while some just need few months learning to cover a song like Mr Siro or Soobin Hoang Son. This makes people may feel bored in playing instrumental music and lead them to give up. These factors are the reason why most young people are in favour of simpler types of music such as Pop or R&B. Nevertheless, people should be encouraged to learn and attend classical music. Firstly, while learning classical music, can boost people ’s creativity and concentration more than pop music. This can be proof by looking at the sheet music for pianists, although it doesn’t have any lyrics, it just has some signs for only people who play piano know. But from that signs, they can understand and play it easily. This insists that playing instrumental would promote their focus and creativity. Also, for many countries such as Austria or France, classical music is like a culture to their country. If it disappears, it would lose its value in their culture. In conclusion, although classical music might be hard to perceive or play, its merits are crucial to some extent and cannot be replaced.