WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many parts of the world young fellows are required to join the armed forces after leaving school. While a number of people think that this is a necessity, I would argue this fact. In this essay, I am plannig to explore a few perspectives to substantiate my point. On the one side, I completely agree with the obvious statement that each country should have its own army to defence the boarders from the intervation of potential enemies. For example, if a country has unfriendly neighbours, it would be vitally to have a strong army. To clearly explain this, Israel is a country under martial law where even girls can become soldier. On the other hand, I firmly believe that military service should not be compulsory for everyone, especially if there is no need to worry about the safety of the polity. For example, in my country, graduates are required to serve in the military, and to control this, our government has to impose restrictions, such as not issuing them passports, to ensure that all young people complete the appropriate military service. In my opinion, this is a violation of individual rights. For instance, I personally know a family whose son was struggling outside of his country due to not having a passport. Taking into account all considered above, I would like to summarise that the above-mentioned statement is arguable, and there are facts both in favor of this statement and against it. Although military service may be considered compulsory in some cases, I believe that in general everyone should have the freedom to do so.