In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some Urban planning officers wish to separate shops, schools, offices and houses into different blocks. Personally, I completely disagree with the idea, and I believe that urban should mix infrastructures and common facilities up. There are several reasons why the disadvantages of separating facilities from each other outdo the advantages. Firstly, it is quite inconvenient for civics’ daily lives, who would drive to shops which are all far away from their home, and commuters could spend a lot of time on the road between homes and workspaces. Secondly, traffic jams often happen at specific periods of each week in the city, for example, commonly, most families plan to go shopping at weekends, which leads to congesting in shopping blocks at weekends always. Finally, the separating blocks would eliminate a city ’s culture, literally, decreasing the possibility of communication with each civic whose backgrounds are various. On the other hand, my view is that mixing each facility up is more beneficial for a city, which has some compelling arguments. One possible reason is that the complex blocks of a modern city might improve the efficiency of common life, imagining that people can pick up and drop off children at school, and work in the same block, which can obviously save up traffic time. furthermore, it can be convenient for daily life, for instance, an employee buys necessities of life directly when they come back. Additionally, a prosperous culture would be developed in the city as more and more communication exists between versatile city blocks. In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of complex blocks in a city do outweigh the disadvantages, so I completely disagree with the idea that a city should separate different facilities from each other.