Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is an irrefutable fact that discipline at schools facilitates the development of juveniles. While disruptive behaviour can detrimentally affect academic achievements. A segment of society is convinced that parents should take ultimate responsibility for the discipline of their adolescents. Others, however, believe that it should be the role of teachers. The following paragraphs will discuss both opinions and explain why parents should be largely responsible in this matter. On the one hand, children spend a considerable part of their day at school and since discipline is crucial, it would be reasonable to expect teachers to allocate some time to develop good manners in students. Additionally, it is easier for teachers to discipline adolescents, because children are usually afraid of getting punished. For instance, if students know that they can get poor scores or even can be excluded from the learning process; therefore, will more likely mind their behaviour at school, and over time it will turn into a good habit. On the other hand, discipline is a complex phenomenon, it is not only behaving well during the lessons but, it is also about being systematic and obeying given rules at home, in public places, and etc. Since children spend more time with their parents, even before going to school, parents should take the main responsibility for the ethical behaviour of their juveniles. Secondly, children take their parents as role models and pick up bad habits mostly from them. And they can repeat the same behaviour at schools. Consequently, if parents enforce strict rules at home, juveniles will behave well everywhere and, for instance, become valuable members of society in the future. To conclude, I believe that parents should play the main role in disciplining their younger ones. The character of teachers should not be ignored.