Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Some commentators argue that the main form of conveying knowledge throughout primary schools to college is theoretical and the amount of practical learning is inadequate. I wholeheartedly agree with this statement and various reasons could be attributed to support my perspective. First of all, there is no denying that most of the subjects are taught without being supported by laboratory classes. Some science subjects are intricate, hence, without practical work, it is difficult to comprehend. For example, physics, biology and chemistry lessons especially, need experiments to develop clear understanding. Moreover, the curriculums at schools and universities also lack experimental projects, instead involve more written assignments. Fields such as literature and history may not require practical learning to secure a position, nonetheless, most technical and business jobs prefer graduates with experience. Some may argue that individuals are learning all the compulsory definitions and equations to be used in field work that they can obtain after graduation. Admittedly, I agree with them partially, however, in recent times, most skip vocational education and dive straight into work. To compete with those experienced people, students need to be equipped with practical skills during their education journey. To conclude, I believe that youths are spending majority of their time absorbing theories and logic but less of real practices. Although the roles of schools are mainly to give factual information to imply in jobs, the benefits of hands-on experiences are not to be underestimated as some complex subjects could not be learned without the medium of labs and also, most employers are willing to give the roles to those with previous experience.