Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently,the content in museums and art galleries has never failed to provoke debates among people.It is argued that they should focus on displaying works that represent the history and culture of their nation rather than those of other regions in the world.While this thinking is valid to a certain extent,I believe that both kinds of work should be shown in museums. It is irrefutable to note that museums and art galleries should exhibit cultural works of their own nation as it brings a wealth of valuable merits to the local citizens. First of all,they can build a stronger sense of historical and personal identity since museums house an eclectic mix of historical objects and plaques which consist of full details about these relics. Hence,people can have a deeper understanding of the harsh journeys that our forefathers went through to build the country. Moreover,they can arouse patriotism and promote national pride among people in the country or make them appreciate independence nowadays. For instance,the Vietnam Military History Museum where presents plenty of aircrafts’ models,huge iron tanks or drapery solder’s pieces of clothes used in wartime can be cited as a convincing example. In addition,showing the works of their country can preserve the national cultural diversity.As the minority ethnic are now in grave danger of losing cultural identity,having their antique artefacts on display can widely spread to a wide range of visitors. Therefore the minority ethnic’s culture can be maintained in this fast-paced society. While the benefits of exposing ancient ornaments of a nation are widely acknowledged,adopting international masterpieces also plays a paramount significant role. Applying works from all over the world will diversify the content of museums and art galleries to meet the ever-increasing demand for educational values of current museum-goers.Particularly,phenomenal paintings from Van Gogh once displayed can draw a great appeal to visitors and broaden their horizon about other artistic aspects of the world. Furthermore, the history of various nations has an interconnection.By housing works from cross-bordered countries,visitors can have a more multi-dimensional view over one event in specific and history in general. In conclusion, although the significance of displaying the national and international works in museums and art exhibitions is equally recognized,they should balance these kinds of works to make sure that museums ’ content is more diverse.