The increase in the population of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, the increase in the number of goods produced is impacting negatively on our natural environment. I believe the problem is not only in toxic products, it also lies in the production system itself. This essay will discuss some possible causes of this and provide some solutions to tackle the problem.  To commence with, the most obvious cause is the sewage which factories discharge into the water source. Actually, the process of making goods always releases waste materials. Some manufactures don't invest in treatment systems to resolve the waste, they release them directly to the environment. My district is a  good example, there is a place people cannot breathe when crossing by, as it's covered with a very strong smell caused by factories in that area. Hence, one of the prime causes is the pollution people dispose of into the water during their manufacturing. Moreover, the impact of carbon dioxide emitted into the air due to gas consumption is drawing attention day by day. Offering financial prospects with affordable prices, fossil and nonrenewable sources of fuel appeal to vast companies. Their usage is widespread globally despite the concern for the environment. In my country, 99% of vehicles are using gas and oil. As a result, the air quality index in some cities sometimes reaches the warning threshold.  There are a number of solutions to reduce the detrimental impact of the above problems. Firstly, the government should impose strict laws to monitor and limit the sewage, waste and smoke companies release to the environment. If they exceed the regulation level, they should be fined. Moreover, authorities should encourage manufacturers and business owners to use more friendly, environmental and renewable sources with incentives in taxes. For example, some countries in Europe have a plan to increase electric cars in the next 5 to 10 years with some deduction in taxes for electric car industries, and we can see a large number of investments in this area in those countries. Those approaches can help governments to reduce waste and minimize pollution.   In conclusion, the production of goods takes the blame for damaging the natural environment. Government should play the key roles to deal with them by tougher rules and regulation enforcement.