Fewer citizens go to their local museums and galleries than ever before. What are the causes of this? What can be done about this?

It is an obvious fact that fewer locals pay visits to the native museums and art galleries in recent times. Commentators are wondering what root causes could be leading to this phenomenon. This essay will outline two potential contributors and also the measures to counteract this. One possible major problem could be the same mundane display contents that rarely changes throughout the years. For example, most historic museums portray the same sculptures and materials unless a new discovery has been made. If residents have already seen them once, the reason to revisit the place is omitted, hence, less frequent visits. Another likely reason contributing to fewer local visitors is the entry fee. Entry fee is compulsory, no matter tourists or locals, in most of the exhibitions so that the money can be used to maintain the display items. Most individuals are not willing to make the same payment twice since paintings and discoveries do not give the duplicated exciting experience unlike places such as theme parks and aquariums. Regarding possible solutions, the most effective solution would be to regularly update the displays, for instance, by joint coordination with other local or foreign exhibits which can be done via temporary exchange or borrowing. Another resolution is to create a day that does not require buying an entry ticket, once per month or so, to invite both old and new visitors. Lastly, the authorities could consider adding presentations and performances to explain the story behind the exhibition items. To illustrate, the national museum of Hanoi has a schedule of shows to portray the culture and heritage of the native town that both the international and native guests enjoy. To summarise, the main problems are the lack of updates in showcase pieces and the visitor fees. Potential remedies may involve regular changes in the layout, no-entry-fee days and complement with interesting performances.