Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, personal information is being interchanged by many individuals with IT companies for access to software. Although some websites are trustworthy and provide educational knowledge to students, I believe that downside of misusing personal data by cybercriminal organizations outweighs the benefit. The main advantage is that many students exchange their data with educational websites to get free access to educational sites. This is to say that these academic sites help them to complete various difficult assignments and, thus they do not need to hire a tutor. As a result, by using these beneficial websites, students can get more success in exams and, they also help them to increase their academic skills. For instance, 'Chegg study' is a free online tutoring site for pupils to helping them in school homework and it also provides 30 minutes of free online tutoring service. However, I think that filling out their personal information on some websites can increase the risk of misusing them by hackers. The main disadvantage of this is that when people buy online applications, they need to fill out their personal information regarding their name, bank account and their address, which can be hacked by hackers. Moreover, some companies sell their users information to hackers to earn money, which in turn, a huge amount of money can be stolen from user’s bank account by hacktivists. For example, a recent report has shown in ‘Time of America newspaper’ cyber-offenders have been stealing millions of dollars by getting the information of their bank accounts after asking them to provide their bank account details if they want to win the prize money. Therefore, I believe that sharing data with unauthorized websites may lead to a major cybercrime. In conclusion, while interchanging personal information with IT companies, to obtain software helps students to increase their intellectual skills, I believe that some hacktivists track secrete information to steal money from users. Therefore, in my opinion, the advantages don’t outweigh the drawbacks.