In many countries in the world, people buy clothes and choose hairstyles according to the latest fashion. Why is this happening? Do you think it is this a positive or negative development?

In various parts of the world, many youngsters tend to purchase new fashionable items, clothes or choose different hairstyles based on the current fashion trend. There are numerous rationales that may be responsible for this phenomenon. Personally, I affirm that this may bring several benefits to the clothing industry and I shall put forth some ideas to demonstrate my point with lucid examples in the following paragraphs. Admittedly, the emergence of the Internet may be one of the main factors that affect the way young citizens dress. With the Internet, people have more chances to acknowledge the current tendency as there is a myriad of shows or TV programs where viewers can see clothes from different renowned brands such as Dior, Versace or Gucci. Moreover, some teenagers are intrigued by fancy attire from movies or reality shows and are keen on imitating the styles of their favourite celebrities. For instance, as Korean musical culture is ubiquitous in Vietnam, many youngsters tend to imitate and dress as Korean superstars. On the one hand, having the possibility to study and apply new fashionable outfits may be beneficial as inhabitants may enrich their daily attire collection. Instead of wearing monotonous and similar outfits daily, consumers may dress more fashionable pieces of the garment with high quality from well-known brands. As global citizens have become more open-minded, clothing conglomerates may have more chances to expand their businesses to new territories and boost their sales. On the other hand, it is critical to maintain and preserve the local and traditional costumes through consecutive generations. Younger descendants need to understand the importance of their local cultures and dress traditional costumes on important occasions. In conclusion, global fashion has become omnipresent which affects the way people dress on a regular basis. While this trend may bring some extra boons, it is also vital to protect the local tradition from being replaced by these new fashion trends.