In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent yearrs visible changes can be seen in family structures as well as family roles such as single parent families or males no longer being the only breadwinner in the family. These changes have become prevalent as people are breaking the conventional thinking and setting their own rules in the society. I believe these developments are not always desirable and can have negative outcomes. The essay below first delves into the changes occurring like extended or nuclear families being reduced to single parent family and women being the breadwinners as well. The essay further explains the negative outcomes. To begin with, in the recent years, as conventional laws are broken, new changes are seen in the composition of family structures and roles which include single parent households or the ones where both parents are either fathers or mothers. To illustrate, as same sex marriages, IVFs and surrogacies are normalised, people can have children, giving rise to these developments in family structures. Single parent households are a result of the high rates of divorces or the of IVFs and surrogacies for single women or men who do not wish to get married but want children. With changed household composition comes variation in roles as ladies are no longer confined within their houses or kitchens, they go out and earn a living for their families, promoting matriarchy in the society. Thus, divorces and same sex marriages are contributing to the substitutions in household composition and roles. Furthermore, these new developments have negative outcomes. For instance, divorces have adverse effects on a child's mind as well as the couple. Consequently, arguements and emotional breakdowns are common. Kids often start spending longer hours away from home and distance themselves from their mothers and fathers. After a point, these single parents become physically and mentally exhausted of all the responsibilities. They are not able to play the roles of both mother and father as they aew burdened with lots of responsibilities. It ultimately affects a kid's character and their future as they are constantly deprived of love and normal atmosphere at home. Hence, mentally and physically exhausted single mothers or fathers are not able to give the youngsters the family they desire. Moreover, adolescents of same sex couples witness a lot of challenges and difficulties in schools or colleges. For example, these youngsters are frequently bullied because of their parents, lowering their self-esteem and because of this, they refuse to go to schools or colleges. The couples are faced with many absurd questions as well, which causes them to doubt their decisions and leads to an unhappy life. Therefore, society makes it difficult for same sex couples or their young ones to have a normal life. To conclude, in this modernised era, various changes in houehold formation and parts played by folks like single or same gender parents and women being the breadwinners are visible. But as everything has negative outcomes, it also has, as single mothers and fathers are always exhausted due to their responsibilities, kids are deprived of normal atmosphere in the house. And childrren of same gender couples are constantly bullied, deeming their self-esteem.