In the last few decades there have been more and more cases of famous people being hounded by the press. Some people think that famous people in the media have no right to privacy. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the digital era, social media allows people to be easily connected. The same applies to celebrities: the line between the public and private spheres is blurred. Further, it is argued among people in the society whether celebrities have the right to privacy. For a variety of reasons, which will be outlined in the following paragraphs, I personally disagree with that point of view. Many people are convinced that celebrities have no right to privacy; the celebrities earn a large amount of money by sacrificing their privacy. In other words, famous people could easily earn money by posting a picture on Instagram. It may seem like easy work to do; however, the cost of it is losing their own privacy. On the other hand, celebrities are also people -- just like everyone else. The right to privacy must apply equally to every people, without prejudice. Whether they are famous or not, the media must respect their privacy. There must be a clear line between celebrities ’ working sphere and private sphere. For instance, the media could interview or taking pictures of celebrities when they are at events, but the media could not go and hound the celebrities while they are having dinner with their family. That is to say, the press must not intrude on celebrities ’ private sphere. Hence, I strongly disagree with this statement, since I believe that everyone has the right to privacy: no exception. To conclude, celebrities are human; thus, their human rights shall be respected. Therefore, based on the reasons given in the foregoing paragraph, I firmly disagree with the statement.