More and more people today are buying and driving cars which has a positive impact for the economy but can hurt the environment. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

It is widely observed that cars are becoming increasingly popular with citizens in present-day society. While I acknowledge the economic benefits of this development, I believe they pale in comparison with its detrimental effects on the environment. Granted, the automobile industry has made great contributions to the economy in many ways. Given the fact that only a handful of well-developed countries have companies that are financially and technologically capable of producing cars, a large proportion of these cars are exported to less developed countries, bringing about tremendous benefits for the former countries’ national economy. For example, the US, Germany and Japan are all major economies whose success can be largely attributed to their car exports. It is also important to note that this industry has created an incredibly wide range of job opportunities, thus providing finance for millions of people. However, I would argue that these economic benefits are outweighed by the harm cars cause to the environment. Considering that car production requires gigantic amounts of fossil fuels, it comes as no surprise that this industry is currently one of the key drivers behind the accelerating depletion of these renewable resources. In addition, cars release significant volumes of exhaust fumes, which greatly exacerbates various environmental problems, namely air pollution and climate change. This can be seen in the case of the US, where carbon dioxide and greenhouse gases emitted from cars account for a massive one-fifth of the country’s total global warming pollution. In summary, while it is true that the automobile industry can offer various financial benefits for both individuals and countries, these benefits are nullified by the damage it does to the environment.