Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

In many countries throughout the world, young people are pushed into careers that they have no aptitude for or do not want to do, and there are two main reasons for this situation. The first reason is the lack of tertiary study options. In some countries, such as China, there are limited places available for tertiary study, and those who do not manage to earn a place at the institution of their choice often find themselves studying a subject which does not interest them, or which is a poor match for their skills and aptitudes. The other main reason, which is closely aligned to the former point, is parental aspirations. Many parents push their children into a limited set of career options because these choices represent social success, security and money in later life. In many cases, the skills and needs of the children are ignored, as their parents encourage them to earn places in prestigious if inappropriate, institutions and to study subjects that are acceptable to their friends and extended family. Some of those children who do manage to jump through all the required hoops find that they are trapped in a career which does not suit their needs or abilities and that they can see no escape from the life sentence imposed by well-meaning families. This can have both personal and social consequences. Firstly, unsatisfied workers can suffer from job stress, which drains human potential and may lead to physical and psychological illness. Dissatisfaction and distress also impacts on their chosen profession and on society as a whole, as unhappy and disaffected workers tend not to give their best, and this affects the quality of their work. In conclusion, a person who is pushed into uncongenial work because of social constraints or family pressure is not likely to be a productive and happy member of society. We need to ensure that individual talents and skills are recognised and catered for if we are to have a harmonious and well-developed society.