Both governments and individuals are spending vast amounts of money protecting animals and their habitat. This money could be better spent dealing with fundamental issues in the society such as poverty and health care. To what extent do you agree?

These days people are more aware of the threats related to the poaching of wildlife and their habitat destruction and trying every possible way to save them. But, many people believe that the fundamental problems related to health care and poverty need more attention as compared to the protection of fauna and their location and, people and government should spend more on remediating the former problems. I strongly disagree with this view because animals are equally significant for human beings. This essay will demonstrate why its proponents are wrong. To begin with, the first and foremost benefit of protecting the animals and their living place is that they help in maintaining the ecological balance. It is a known fact that oxygen is most vital for the survival of human beings. Animals play an important role in the pollination of seeds which help in growing trees in wild. For instance, tropical rain forest provides more than 50 per cent of oxygen to the world and most of the trees grown there are due to animal diverted pollination of seeds that are spread by animals in the area. Secondly, animals provide us with food. For instance, the honey bee is considered the keystone species because it helps us in the cultivation of food grains. Globally two- third of cultivated crops are the result of pollination initiated by bees. In addition, animals also provide us with milk and meat. In this busy life, many convenience foods are available in the market which is ready to eat, and directly or indirectly animals are involved in its preparation. Last but not the least, animals play a guard role and provide us with a sense of safety. For example, the dog is a very faithful animal and police often use their extraordinary smell power to detect the thieves. To conclude, the fundamental issues are important to be considered and should be tackled by the government. But, the protection of fauna and its habitat is equally important. Therefore, in my,opinion there should be no reduction in money spent on saving animals and their habitats as we cannot think of life without animals.