if a country is already rich, any additional economic wealth does not make its citizens happier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For some, an improvement in economic conditions in developed nations does not guarantee increased levels of happiness. In my view, I agree this point and I would give some reasons in the following paragraphs. For a variety of reasons, if a country is already rich, additional wealth may bring citizens happier. For example, as consumers have more disposable income, their spending on goods and services would increase, this raises their material living standards which makes their lives happier.It is well documented that a rich country with additional economic wealth would make its residents happier. Under such a situation,government make more tax revenue which would invest in education and health care. Thus, people who live in this country would enjoy a better education or health system. However, a high value of real GDP per head does not always indicate a higher standard of living. Firstly, a handful of countries that have high GDP per year may tend to more pressure on works. People who want to make more income invest in houses or cars. They have to spend more time working and also have to put more effort into competing with their colleagues in order to get higher salaries. Therefore, such a situation would lead to those people's living standards decreasing. Secondly, even though countries are already rich, income is not evenly distributed between rich and poor. For example, Kuwait has one of the richest countries in the world while only a small number of households may benefits. In addition, with the development of countries, the price of products may increases because the cost of raw materials increases which would cause inflation in that country. As a result, citizens have to spend more money on necessities than before. Thus, those people who are not rich in developed countries may have a financial burden. All in all, rich countries are beneficial to citizens. But, there are also costs of high GDP such as longer working hours, financial burden and inflation. These drawbacks affect happiness in daily lives.