Young people spend less of their free time with their family nowadays. What are the reasons for this? Are there more negative or positive sides?

At present, youngsters spend less time with their family, during free hours. There are several reasons for this trend. Even though it has both positive and negative sides, in my opinion, adverse aspects outweigh the advantages. This essay shall discuss the reasons for this concept and describe the rationale behind my viewpoint. The primary reason for a habit of spending less time with family members among young people is their overwhelming work schedule. The young generation is running in short of time because of their exhausting work or studies. Moreover, they are trying to achieve many goals within a short time period. Secondly, they are not well socialised in society compared to the old generation. For example, in the previous generation, there were not much online social media to spend time, whereas today, all teenagers have their own mobile phones. Therefore, they spend more time in online activities than physical interaction with people. As per my opinion, this is not a positive development. On the other hand, it deteriorates the health of the young generation and makes them lazy and lethargic. For instance, those who spend more time on mobile and laptop screens, are prone to develop early cataracts and retinal problems. Additionally, it makes them sedentary and may lead to cardiovascular diseases and lifestyle disorders. Along with that, it also reduces the bonding between family members and reduces interaction among relatives. This could lead to a lot of psychological and behavioural issues in the new generation. In conclusion, spending time in an isolated personal space cause more drawbacks than its expected benefits and therefore it is necessary to engage youngsters in social and physical activities. As a, result we can create a productive and energetic new generation.