Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens more satisfied.

It is believed by some specialists that when a country is developed richly, the extra economic growth can not bring more happiness to its inhabitants. From my point of view, I completely agree with this statement and in this essay, I will support my opinion with relevant examples. In terms of the economic side, an over-developed economy can not give citizens more satisfaction because of the increasing need in society. What I mean is that because of the rising of consumption and life standard, many people may want to achieve more. However, this phenomenon often brings anxiety and risk rather than happiness. For instance, a wide range of investors put a large amount of money in the stock market and many of them gain nothing and even lose their money. What’s more, some people even use the money to gamble, which may lead to excessive pleasure and loss of all the property. On the other hand, many developed countries are paying more attention to develop the culture and social well-being, which would raise the standard of their inhabitants’ living. That is to say, their residents would be happier with the good healthcare system and environmental protection rather than the growth of the economy. In addition, many people choose to retreat back to the countryside instead of living in bustling cities to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of nature and avoid economic pressure. In conclusion, although the economy is a vital part of a country, I am of the opinion that a nation should focus more on mental fulfilment to bring more satisfaction to its citizens.