Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Environmental issues have become much more serious and devastating over the last centuries. It is said that preserving existing natural species is imperative while some argue that there are more important environmental issues to tackle. I would support the latter opinion. The extinction of inhabitants on earth is a serious problem as it is thought to be caused by human activities. For instance, Tasmanian tigers, which are native to Australia, went extinct mainly due to human encroachment to their habitats followed by hunting. Also, expansion of farming land resulted in cutting down huge numbers of trees, leading to the reduction of the areas for plants to grow. A vast majority of humans have been disregarding the consideration of other species and keep destroying them and therefore, people should be more accountable for the protection of other animals and plants. However, climate change such as global warming and extreme weather should primarily be dealt with since the vanishing of species hugely depends on their environments. Even though the preservation of natural inhabitants seems to be a human's responsibility, deterring such environmental issues would, in turn, be able to protect natural species. Unusual weathers such as cyclones, typhoons, and intense thunderstorms could destroy forests where animals dwell, leading to less food for them. As a result, there would be nowhere they can live. Global warming can also cause serious damage to the earth and alter the natural ecosystem, which consequently ends up with devastating effects on living creatures in the world. In summary, dealing with issues other than the extinction of animals and plants such as climate change would be of primary.